Latest group of Future Champions announced

Latest group of Future Champions announced


Latest group of Future Champions announced

Screen Shot 2017 03 27 at 8.55.46 AM

The latest group of young athletes to keep an eye on in the future has been unveiled, with Sport Taranaki launching their 2017 Future Champions programme on Thursday night.

Now in its 11th years, the programme was for high school student athletes and offered the opportunity to work with trainers dealing with nutrition, mental skills, biomechanics and strength and conditioning.

Swimmers and volleyball players are well represented in this year's group of 12 student athletes, with four swimmers and three volleyball players.

Francis Douglas Memorial College's Zac Reid was now in his third year of the programme and would only be receiving individual support from the programme, while the other 11 would undertake the workshop programme and receive the extra sport science support.

At this year's launch, five of the athletes were unable to attend, with Reid, Josh Gilbert, Zarhn Collins and Sasha Reid away at swimming nationals, while kayaker Hannah Baker was competing in Australia. 

Fellow kayaker Ben McCallum was also set to compete overseas, being selected to represent New Zealand at the Canoe Sprint Junior World Championships in Romania in July.

Other athletes in the programme included volleyball players Libby Houghton, Maya Dickson and Hikaru Han, hockey player Hope Ralph, athletics star Hannah O'Connor and surfer Daniel Farr.

 - Stuff